Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Amsoil Diff Fluid

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2015, 12:20 AM
RSR

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Amsoil Diff Fluid

Not intending to get hyper technical here or in the weeds...

Had some axle work done at my local mechanic and he refilled by diff w/ whatever standard diff fluid the shop stocks... I've been driving around for about 2 months now with that fluid in.

Well, I changed fluid this weekend back to Amsoil Severe Gear Gear Oil 75w90 (what I had in before the work -- finally got around to ordering it and replacing), and I'd say it seems like I have an extra ~20 extra hp on startup (before diff warmed up) and ~10 hp the rest of the time... Mainly feel it in throttle responsiveness and acceleration, but it's very real -- wasn't looking for a difference, just have taken such notice of "wow" the past couple days I wanted to comment. Here's the link: http://www.amsoil.com/shop/by-produc...e-gear-75w-90/

They have a great gear oil study too comparing their product to others (bottom line, royal purple or lucas synthetic gear oils look like a really bad idea): http://www.lastgreatroadtrip.com/wp-...comparison.pdf

Once I have a few weeks worth of mileage to compare, I'll post back here w/ those results, but it will definitely be a significant increase, especially since I run a lot of short trips... If you're looking for an immediate impact on improved performance, here's one quick an easy upgrade.