Alternator grounded out - blown fuse? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   > >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Alternator grounded out - blown fuse?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2009, 03:56 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Evil.Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA but my heart is still in CO
Posts: 321
Alternator grounded out - blown fuse?

So I went to take out my alternator. I was distracted by talking to the wife, pulled the plug of the rear, went to wrench the wire off the top of the alt and "spark"...grounded it out. Forgot to disconnect the battery. Now nothing works. No lights, nothin. I assume I didn't fry my ECU cause this is more a symptom of a fuse, but I can't find any fuse blown that would be related. Nothing in the book either explaining "complete deadness". I assume there us a in line fuse somewhere. Anyone know where?
Evil.Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 03:57 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Yodaforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West NC
Posts: 406
It's either under the hood (most likely), or you have burned up the fusible link that comes from the battery and supplies the fuse boxes with power.
Yodaforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:01 PM   #3
Licensed Lunatic
 
iamsuperbleeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake City, Fl
Posts: 12,244
well on a 3rd gen pu, on the passenger side under the hood in the large black fuse box, there's an alternator fuse at the back; 80amp for a 4cyl, and 100 for a 6cyl

you probably popped that guy

note that you have to pretty much disassymble the fuse box to remove it, cause it's held in with two bolts, that requires you to first unbolt the box from the inner fender, pop it open, push the block through the bottom that holds the fuse, and then remove the two bolts to slide the fuse out

only reason I know is because I had to put a higher amp fuse in my 91 when I upgraded the alt


iamsuperbleeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:01 PM   #4
Contributing Member
iTrader: ( 3 )
 
BigBluePile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 14,827
Check the fuses by the battery. I've done the same thing, my truck still works!! LOL!!!
BigBluePile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:08 PM   #5
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Evil.Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA but my heart is still in CO
Posts: 321
Thats what I thought too, but the fuses look intact, they are those see through ones. Just for the heck of it, I disconnected both terminals of the battery, waited 30 secs hooked them back up and I had the dash ligths and buzz for a sec, then it died again. Tried to disconnect both terminals to repeat but nothing this time. Relay maybe? Do the 80 amp fuses blow but look good by visual inspection? God I hate elctrical issues. Stupid me for not disconnecitng the damn battery!!
Evil.Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:09 PM   #6
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Evil.Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA but my heart is still in CO
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBluePile View Post
Check the fuses by the battery. I've done the same thing, my truck still works!! LOL!!!

Thanks for the re-assurance, I was pretty worried I fried something big $$$ like the ecu.
Evil.Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:17 PM   #7
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Evil.Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA but my heart is still in CO
Posts: 321
Any thoughts about relays as an issue?
Evil.Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:19 PM   #8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Evil.Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA but my heart is still in CO
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yodaforce View Post
It's either under the hood (most likely), or you have burned up the fusible link that comes from the battery and supplies the fuse boxes with power.

where is the fusable link?
Evil.Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:20 PM   #9
Contributing Member
iTrader: ( 3 )
 
BigBluePile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 14,827
I'd check all the fuses before I'd worry about relays.
BigBluePile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:48 PM   #10
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Evil.Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA but my heart is still in CO
Posts: 321
ok, so just for giggles I disconnected both terminals and waited five minutes. Hooked them back up, she slowly turned over with a dull check engine light..died,....turned the key again, same thing,..... then it kicked in and started up, ran without check engine light. Repeated several times without problem. Now I'm back to the original problem of charge and brake light on. I read that it most likely the brushes. Is there a triode on these? Should I do a entire rebuild kit or have most people been ok with just replacing the brushes. I have 185,000 miles on the original alt. Wires all look good.
Evil.Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 04:57 PM   #11
Social Media Mod
Staff
 
Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,076


80A fusible link, AutoZone has them for $2 or so.
Get a couple.



That's what blew on my rig when the fuse box got wet.

You have to pull the entire thing out of the fuse box and then undo two screws on either side of the link before it will come out.
I shattered my stock one with a set of pliers and frustration.

Here's what it screws into, this slides up into the right side of the fuse box.



Good luck!

Fink

Last edited by Fink; 08-04-2009 at 05:02 PM.
Fink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 05:04 PM   #12
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Evil.Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA but my heart is still in CO
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4Fink View Post


80A fusible link, AutoZone has them for $2 or so.
Get a couple.



That's what blew on my rig when the fuse box got wet.

You have to pull the entire thing out of the fuse box and then undo two screws on either side of the link before it will come out.
I shattered my stock one with a set of pliers and frustration.

Here's what it screws into, this slides up into the right side of the fuse box.



Good luck!

Fink
Thanks for the quality pics. I am going to pick a couple of those up to have for spares. Good to know about it being screwed in there. I could see myself going caveman on it with a pair of pliers!
Evil.Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 05:07 PM   #13
Social Media Mod
Staff
 
Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil.Dingo View Post
Thanks for the quality pics. I am going to pick a couple of those up to have for spares. Good to know about it being screwed in there. I could see myself going caveman on it with a pair of pliers!
I blew mine to bits.
I was pissed.

All it took was a calm text message to a very wise Wabbit and he then learnt onto me the wisdom in which he had already acquired.
30 seconds later it was out and I was at AutoZone.

Good luck.

Fink
Fink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 05:50 PM   #14
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Evil.Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA but my heart is still in CO
Posts: 321
lol, yep. I could totally see myself doing the same.

After reading some other posts from searching. I think I am going to go with a reman alt from toyota. They are 199.00. From what I could find, it appears that the slip rings in my year vehicle are bronz and not stainless steel like the early eighties models. This appearently results in low quality contact and loss in voltage even with the new brushes. I figure 185,000 miles on the original is good enough. Me and the wife are goint to the adirondacks in few weeks and I would feel stupid if the alt died again. Might as well pay for sense of security.
Evil.Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 06:40 PM   #15
Licensed Lunatic
 
iamsuperbleeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake City, Fl
Posts: 12,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil.Dingo View Post
I could see myself going caveman on it with a pair of pliers!
lmao, how do you think I discovered that it was bolted in! that's exeactly what I did
iamsuperbleeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 06:44 PM   #16
Contributing Member
iTrader: ( 3 )
 
BigBluePile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 14,827
I have tried farting with that fuse and was always worried out damaging it. Now I know NOT to rip it out!! LOL!!
BigBluePile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1985 22r pickup, no spark but engine cranks sandyota 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 3 05-12-2016 05:04 PM
1uz wiring swap confirmation sanctfy All Other Toyota Swaps 6 09-15-2015 02:52 PM
removing 80-A fuse toyNG 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 08-13-2015 02:27 PM
Weird stereo problem Mrhoadley Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment 1 08-04-2015 06:08 PM
Alternator swap, keeping it all Toyota. 80Truck Pre 84 Trucks 8 07-24-2015 03:12 PM


Tags
15, 87, 97, alt, altenator, alternator, amp, battery, blew, blown, causing, fuse, jeep, pops, supra, toyota, wet

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:58 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.