Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

95 4runner -dtc 71---HELP

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2013, 06:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
95 4runner -dtc 71---HELP

Good Day All- a newbie here checked egr-cleaned replaced cooling sensor, fan & ecu-beside of it back of intake drove light came back on i am losing my MIND trfying to figure this out anybody chime in w/suggestions if not some C4 will help... thanks
Old 03-30-2013, 09:06 PM

Received 820 Likes on 648 Posts
It will be easier to figure out what you have done if you throw in a few periods and commas.

Code 71 is to detect a failure of the EGR by measuring the temperature of the exhaust->intake duct. (Too cold means no exhaust getting through.) First, I would put my hand on the duct after you've been driving a bit; I'm told it should be "warm, not hot." If it's cold, the problem is in the EGR circuit. If warm, the problem is in the EGR Gas Temp Sensor.
Old 04-01-2013, 08:32 PM

tubing to EGR seems warm, how to check temp sensor that is in side of EGR valve ?? Thanks for al your help
Old 04-01-2013, 09:31 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I got the same code too, I pulled the egr tube out of the intake cleaned, made sure there was no blockage on the vacuum hose come from the tbody to that charcoal filter thing cleaned that from there i pulled the egr off and cleaned that to double checked to make sure that the diaphragm moves up and down freely blew some air thru those holes to check for blockage. After that I put it back together and pulled the efi fuse for 10mins plugged it back together and so far no check engine light. (knocking on wood)
Old 04-01-2013, 09:32 PM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
With an ohm meter.
http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...43egrgaste.pdf

PS Thanks guys you inspired me to work on mine some more. Bimetal valve works, EGR valve warm, EGR tube to intake cold *bingo* I'll pull that off and hammer the gunk out
Old 04-01-2013, 09:35 PM