86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

94 3vze ecm swap

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2013, 01:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
94 3vze ecm swap

My short version is this? I want to replace my ECM. Engine runs fine. it does pass smog but the engine light is on, so they fail it. A mechanic told me I should replace it. I have a replacement with the same serial numbers. I am afraid that if I need to put my original one back in that it wont work. I remember reading somewhere they dont always take.

So long version here

2 years ago I replaced my head gaskets. I'm not a mechanic, but if I have the recipe or FSM I have the aptitude. I have 11,000 on the rebuild and no leaky and runs strong.(Am I right that the head bolts do not need re-tourqing? They are the kind you torque down to spec torque but one last step is you 1/4 turn all the head bolts. Just want to make sure.)
Anyways, a few months ago it was doing weird electrical things, like left turn signal stayed on and no blinking. right signal did not work. Sometimes it would just keep turning over but not start. Spark issue. A bunch of weird things. So I took it to a mechanic and spent 160 dollars just so he could tell me I need a new one. I kept pestering him about it and he finally magically made the thing run again as if nothing was wrong. The problem with that was that the engine light was now on. I did not care about that until i went to get my engine smogged here in california. My smog parameters were all good and passing but because the engine light is on they have to fail it until fixed.

So back to my question. I dont want to get into this replacement until I'm sure I know what I am getting into. Is there a chance my now-working-but-engine-light-on-ECM will not work if I try to put it back in?...in the case that the replacement one doesnt work?...do they always need re-flashing?...