Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

'94 22re 4x4, got no power at all

Old 12-02-2009, 05:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'94 22re 4x4, got no power at all

Hi guys, I'm new here, but I've been searching the forums for some kind of clue or solution for my problem. Here's the situation: Tuesday of last week I spent probably a couple hours driving all over the place and the truck ran fine, like normal. Then I stopped for half an hour or so and when I jumped back in I had a dramatic loss of power. Hesitation while accelerating, low idle (usually idles at between 750 and 1000 rpm, right now it's closer to 500 and the whole truck vibrates more than usual), low power. It feels like it's not getting enough gas to me (but I'm still pretty new to the mechanical world). There's no smoke coming out of the tailpipe or anything, and the truck passed California smog less than two months ago so I don't think there could be anything wrong with the catalytic converter.

So I took it to a mechanic this last Monday and after a cursory look at the engine, he suggested spark plugs, EGR valve, and then took the oil filler cap off while idling and the engine sputtered down and sounded like it was going to stall. He put the cap back on and said it's a valve problem that's going to need the whole top end taken apart and sent to a machine shop. I thought that was a big jump to make, but I've never taken the oil filler cap off while idling before. Is that what's supposed to happen? I did some googling and got mixed responses ranging from "never take the oil filler cap off" to "if it stalls when you take the cap off it just means your engine is running correctly" and just about everything in between. So what do you guys think? I don't know anyone with the same kind of truck/engine as me so I can't try it myself.