Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

93 Runner, 3.0, Crank, Won't Start

Old 09-23-2016, 04:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
93 Runner, 3.0, Crank, Won't Start

So I am new to Toyotas (and this forum) and I have a 93 4Runner that now won't start. I came out this morning and it started perfect with no issue as it has been for the last 2 months. I got in to drive away and had no power steering (pump leaking). So I added what I thought to be power steering fluid, but in reality, it was brake fluid. I said I can't have that, it'll f up all my seals...and I REALLY don't want to replace a gearbox or lines. So I shut he truck down, drained the fluid from the reservoir through the return hose and put the return hose back on. I got in to head off and the truck would not start. It cranks over great, and it starts for about 3 seconds then dies. It's been doing this all day. I had things to do so I had my dad come over and take me to do my errands. We can back, same thing, crank, runs for 3 seconds and dies. I was able to keep it running with brake cleaner in the air hose, so I know it's a fuel issue. I cracked the supply fuel line and had my dad crank it and fuel came out in all directions so it's getting fuel to the rail.

I did a little research and found out about the circuit off relay and read about how it operates and how to test, but I looked behind the glove box and passenger kick panel and saw no relay. I also read that the MAF (VAM) has a contact that supplies power to the fuel pump once it's sucking in enough air to close that contact, which is what it sounds like to me...and I have read these things go bad quite often.