Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

93' 5 speed pickup Any Info would be appreciated!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2014, 01:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
93' 5 speed pickup Any Info would be appreciated!!!!

Im new to this but I have a 93 Toyota 5 speed pickup and just recently it has started messing up. When I pull off and shift through third its fine but as soon as I hit third it starts hesitating and my check engine light flickers on and off once I steady my speed its fine until I shift to fourth and it does it again. If i punch the gas it really starts jerking i have to gradually gain speed. I was afraid my transmission was slipping but I had it checked and they say its fine. Nothing shows up when they check the engine light BC it only flickers on and off. I have poured over the internet and came across this site and everyone here seems like they actually know what they're talking about. I know very little about vehicles. I've ran anything from it needs transmission fluid to a new a clutch to the fuel cleaner to a tune up to all that's wrong is bad gas. Any info on this would be amazing where I could get some kind of idea what's wrong since the shop can't find anything wrong with it.
Old 01-09-2014, 08:16 PM

check your plugs? maybe injectors? O2 sensors? Other than that im stumped as well, sorry I couldnt be of more help.
Old 01-10-2014, 09:42 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to Yotatech. Is there a reason that you might have a tank of bad gas, filled up somehwere you don't usually fill up? Sounds like a fuel supply issue, if I'm understanding your post correctly, it happens under load. Check your fuel filter/pump; others that have had this issue will chime in.
Old 01-10-2014, 01:20 PM