YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2011, 01:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: mer rouge la 71261
Posts: 3
92 pickup 3.0 timing problems

I got a 92 pickup with the 3.0 and I just built a new motor for it. But when I put the timing. Belt on one of the cam gears rolled out a tooth. Can I adjust that out at the distributer or do I need to redo the timing belt process?
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
mchurch2 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 02:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
iselloil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Richmond va
Posts: 739
You have to keep the cams in time with the crank.You cant adjust it at the distributor.Move the cam back one tooth.

Last edited by iselloil; 08-03-2011 at 02:49 AM.
iselloil is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 03:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: mer rouge la 71261
Posts: 3
92 toyota timing

Thanks I kinda figured that but I got a buddy that thinks he knows it all and he is the type that if his mouth is moving he is Probably lieing and he says he use to work at a Toyota dealership but he told me u could adjust it at the distributer but I wanted to be sure that I needed to redo the belt before I actually went any farther
mchurch2 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 03:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
iselloil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Richmond va
Posts: 739
You've got two cams,now one is out of time with the crank,one in time.How would the doing it at the distributor work?When we do timing belts on anything. We mark the old timing belt at three places,and each pulley.Remove the belt and transfer the marks to the new belt.Then install the new belt.Takes a extra minute, but you know your right when your done.Also you dont have to put the engine at TDC.
iselloil is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 04:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: mer rouge la 71261
Posts: 3
Thanks for the tip that was almost what I did in the beginning except I didn't mark the belt and when I.pulled the slack out of the belt with the tensioned pulley that is when the cam jumped a tooth.
mchurch2 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 06:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Half Doors on and Top off for the Summer!
Personal Sales Rating: (3)
Staff
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW, rusting away
Posts: 15,205
Notice your friend 'used to work' if he knew what he was doing he would probably still be there...

You can download the fsm in my sig...
__________________
~robb
'81 Toyota Trekker

Mini FAQ/Ideas

PNW wheeler group: Gitout.Com
dropzone is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
TNRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: TENN Native Languishing in Virginia
Posts: 4,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by iselloil View Post
You've got two cams,now one is out of time with the crank,one in time.How would the doing it at the distributor work?When we do timing belts on anything. We mark the old timing belt at three places,and each pulley.Remove the belt and transfer the marks to the new belt.Then install the new belt.Takes a extra minute, but you know your right when your done.Also you dont have to put the engine at TDC.
That would work if his "friend" hadn't done the last timing belt change at the dealer.....
__________________
TNRabbit
Stock '94 DLX XtraCab 3VZE 4x4 5 spd, 17" FJ Cruiser Wheels, 276k miles, AISIN Manual Hubs
Law of Mechanical Repair: "After your hands are coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch and you'll have to pee!"

Multipe FSMs!!!
EPIC 3VZE info thread
Cheap OEM Parts: www.toyotaofnewnan.com

TNRabbit is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:14 AM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
30, 92, belt, dlx, mode, moves, pick, pickup, pk, problems, set, timing, timong, toyota, truck, yotatech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:30 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2