Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

'91 Pickup Intro

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2011, 04:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'91 Pickup Intro

Hi everybody, newbie here.

Just wanted to make a quick introduction and perhaps throw a few questions out there at the same time about the new-to-me Pickup i purchased last week.

Been looking for something reliable and more offroad-oriented for a while now (First truck for me), and last week a nice little '91 popped up and i picked it up the next day.

Lots of miles on her, paint is so so and the interior is okay, but she seemed mechanically not too bad, plus i got a great price.

'91 Pickup Intro-k3djo.jpg

Picture taken before picking it up.

I got her home via the freeway and i could tell that she's been sitting for a while. At first, struggling to maintain 60 mph, but then gradually got better and we could do 75 all the way home .

Did a complete tuneup and picked up a few parts at the dealer and such, picked up my plate and started more work on it.

Brakes were pretty bad, especially after i did an emergency stop and my pedal went to the floor. Checked the lines and noticed a leak right at the fuel tank, so off i went to pick up some brake lines and connectors. Pulled off the bed for better access as well.

'91 Pickup Intro-saik3.jpg

Once the line was fixed and the system bled (and the fuel pump wire fixed that i accidentally pulled off...), i was rather surprised by the sheer braking for of this thing .

Well, aside from that, not much else was done. Just getting her ready for the road, really.

I'll have to pick up some new tires relatively soon, not sure how old these are. Clutch has maybe 1/4 travel left, so it may be going in the not too distant future. Left front i'll have to replace a wheel stud (snapped off, apparently) and the tranny is sounding not so healthy in neutral. Maybe input shaft bearing? We'll see.