Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

91 Pick-up with no cash

Old 04-19-2010, 09:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 91 Pick-up with no cash

Hello Everyone,

I have a 91 Pick-Up with the V-6 4wd. I am not a mechanic or really know much about trucks. All I got is my driving abilities. My problem is it has 35 inch tires and the original V-6 that has been beefed up a little bit. I really woul dlike to make this truck a good toy to play with because my son picked it out. The engine runs alright, but can't really do much climbing. I am an E-4 in the Army and also don't have any money to spend. I had one hundred extra dollars so I took it to a mechanic. He changed the oil and all that and gave it a good look over. He said that everything on it was good but the engine. He said it would be about $400 to get it running strong, and I just don't have that kind of money. So I was wondering what you would all do. I drive it around town everyday without a problem, it is just when we go up into the mountains that it boggs down. I am looking for a new V-8, but probably won't have the funds to buy it. I am lost, I am a motorcycle guy, but my son is 6 and wanted this truck. Is there anything I can do for VERY minimal cash that will improve the truck, or should I just sell it. I could make a little money selling it.
Old 04-19-2010, 09:16 AM

Received 84 Likes on 56 Posts
V-6 3.0 is notorious for having some issues, but you might be able to get some more use out of it by doing the head gaskets and having the heads cleaned up. You could pull this off for around $500 if you did the work yourself, but since you don't know much about trucks it would take a while and would not be recommended if this is your first mechanical step.