Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

88 4runner 3.slw build...Wake the beast inside?? lotsofpics

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2011, 07:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
88 4runner 3.slw build...Wake the beast inside?? lotsofpics

I bought this truck a few months ago and just started working on it now . I am a complete yota noob first one ever for me. So Hi everyone .Drove my buddies '89 4runner IFS, didn't stop until i found one for myself. Bought it through a friend of my fathers who got it brand new in 88. 340k 5spd and as you can see was in rough shape before i saved her.

long term goal:
1" body lift
4-6" lift
33's
Full custom interior:
custom center console, painted interior, soundproofed,
Power everything
7mgte, 2JZ..
rear disc
bj spacers
custom tube rear bumber with spare swing, front tube bumper with winch, soft top, sliders and fog lights
Roof lights rack
carbon fiber hood and front fenders, possibly the rear tailgate too

Alot more ideas but that is the basic idea

When i finally got to work on it, it had been in the garage for over a month i was killing me not be able to get started. first thing i had to do was fix the major body rot, which there was even more then i had originallythought
The PO had covered all the rust with duct tape so obviously everything was rotted. nothing a little work, sheet steel, and fiber glass can't fix

used 16g steel from work Don't have a welder so i just used self tapping screws and ground the heads off. Held up well so far.

Whole top of tailgate is gone :s stupid duck tape

I'm lovin the new fenders , but still have to fix the lower rear fender where the cover fits on, both completely gone. Tomorrow is paint day, going primer black untill i get some more $$$.

Last edited by MaDkAtT44; 03-29-2012 at 10:22 PM.
Old 08-21-2011, 06:30 PM