Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

87 22re will crank but not start :(

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2012, 07:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
87 22re will crank but not start :(

Ok soooo....I am not a mechanic by any means but I understand how most things work, I've even worked in a tire shop for 3 years.˟

Ive dOne all sorts of little stuff to my baby but now I believe I am in way over my head. I recently found oil in my antifreeze and not just a little, it was a decent amount, when I was changing the thermostat because she was acting funny so I tried to start simple. I was told by many to do the head gasket. So I did. It took me a while but after it was all done I had less than a dozen bolt leftover lol and she ran like a champ for 3 days. Then I took her for a ride and she started to overheat so I pulled over. She didn't get to the red area but she lost power and died. I let her cool down an then she wouldn't start anymore. I had a buddy of mine use a mirror down the cylinders and he said it looked ok. He also did a compression test and came up with 25lbs in each cylinder.˟

My question is: what's next? So far in the last year she has a new battery, new master brake cylinder, new water pump, new timing chain and tensioners, new oil pan gasket, new head gasket and intake/exhaust manifold gaskets and a new thermostat. All done by me. Did I mess something up?˟(also a new clutch from a shop)
08-04-2012, 08:46 AM ˟ #6 (permalink)
habanero
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
˟

˟

Taking on a job like that isn't messing stuff up, it just gets chalked up to a learning experience.
Oh, and...
Quote:
after it was all done I had less than a dozen bolt leftover

Because we're now out of my inexpertise I can't help much. It sounds like you've got a deja vu, but again, like you I am still having learning experiences daily.