Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

86 pickup with missing header bolts - how to fix

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2016, 01:23 AM
OBT

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 pickup with missing header bolts - how to fix

Hi All, I'm a newbie on this site and hoping for some tech help. My '86 blew out 2 of the 8 header studs (Thorley Headers) several years ago and I'm just getting around to solving the issue. This trucks been up on blocks for most of the past 7 years, and I'm rebuilding it bumper to bumper.

How it happened: Excessive load, highway speed, floored it on a small rise, big BANG, sound of exhaust leaving the manifold under the hood, slight odor of exhaust. Solution: Keep driving, open the fly window when driving or roll the window down. Give 'em the yeah-it-sounds-awesome look when accelerating from a stoplight in traffic. Actually, I do dig that throaty sound coming in stereo from the rear and the front, Flow Master in the back, wish I could replicate it with new exhaust system..but I digress.

I've got the new header gasket, studs, and block-off plates for the air intake/recirc tubes which are rusty and threating leakage. I've talked with the tech at Thorley headers and described my issues. Got the - wow, that's gonna be tough to fix response. Since the steel studs ripped out of the aluminum head I'm assuming most the threads are gone and they are stud ports not thru holes (or at least I hope they're not) using a system to tap and set a helicoil is not an option (tech's advice here). The tech suggested trying a course thread stud (replace the 10 x 1.25 metric studs with slightly larger NC stud) that way it still fits the header holes but can mash its way into the aluminum and hopefully sieze in place with enough thread bite before it rips the remaining threads out completely. It's kinda a winner take all solution, if I rip either of those holes out it's get a new aluminum head time and I have confidence in this engine (85k on it, no leaks, no oil burn).