Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

3vze miss issues

Old 10-11-2008, 12:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3vze miss issues

First time logging in and hoping that someone out there might be able to give me a bit of insight as to what i might be encountering. Sorry for such a long entry, but I figured i better lay out all the details here.

I have a 94 4runner with a 3vze engine. For about a year, the engine was giving me trouble that felt like a miss. During this time, no trouble codes were occurring, no issues of oil in coolant/coolant in oil. The only real symptoms were a rough run, lack of power under load, and if driving for a long time at highway speeds, the temp on the trans (unfortunately an auto-pain in the rear during the reinstall) would get very hot.

I will qualify this by stating that i am not an expert, but at the same time have a fairly extensive amount of mechanical expertise.

While this was going on, I didn't have a facility to do extensive work, nor the time to tear deep into the engine. As much as I hated to do it, the runner wound up at the dealer to fix the problem (talked to a few mechanics who said they were not sure they could beat the pricing i would get at the dealer). Six injectors later, a new fuel pressure regulator, and some overall troubleshooting, I get the runner back (and my wallet $1000 lighter). Still wasn't running right, frustrated but not really having the time to deal with this, i took a break from driving it. My GF started to use it from time to time to drive the dogs places and runs to HomeDepot, but other than that, it didn't get a ton of use under massive strain. Then one day the miss started to get bad and some smoke started to come from the tail pipe. Before i knew it, the head gasket was blown.