86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

3vze head gasket replacement : my turn

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2007, 09:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face 3vze head gasket replacement : my turn

Hi everyone, i've been lurking this forum HARD ever since the HG blew in my 93 3vze. Faced with a potential $3k charge to have a local shop do this job I did some googling and landed on this incredible forum where reading your threads has convinced me that I can tackle this job myself. I'm ok with the wrench but I've never done anything this advanced before. Along with replacing the HG, I will replace the timing belt, all timing belt pulleys, tensioner, water pump and will likely have the valves done as well. This thread's purpose is for me to post the progress I make and ask questions along the way...

Here's a pic of how far I've gotten to this point (I've since removed the fan bracket):

Here are a couple shots of the existing timing belt, notice the nasty cracks. Who knows how long that sucker would have lasted. As far as I know it is original.

The existing belt has marks for the cams/crank alignment points. I bought a new belt from the local Toyota dealer and it didn't have any marks, weird. The parts guy said I wouldn't have to worry about it. Is he right?

While at the dealer I also picked up the pulleys, tensioner, water pump and a tube of FIPG. I'm waiting on engnbldr to get some TTY head bolts in, when he does I'll grab the head gaskets and all other gaskets needed for this job.

My next step is to remove the cam sprockets. Is there harm in attempting to do this with an impact wrench while the old belt is on? I've read the horror stories about getting these off and thought while the timing belt is tight, it might be worth a shot. If not, i'll rig up a SST something like others have made to get these off.