86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

3VZE(3.0) Metal Head Gaskets?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2012, 01:52 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
3VZE(3.0) Metal Head Gaskets?

I'm curious if anyone else has had an experience with all metal head gaskets for the 3.0?

I just recently for a friend of mine replaced the head gaskets and re-surfaced the cylinder heads due to the classic 3.0 head gasket leak out the back corner of cylinder #6.(95 Toyota 4runner)

Friend provided all parts and he bought a head gasket kit from LCEngineering and it has metal head gaskets. I've never used metal head gaskets before normally composite or ceramic based. Since the heads were newly surfaced and i spent 2 hours cleaning the block surface very carefully i figured it would be ok.

Tourqed down exactlly like the FSM said to do in the 3 steps:

-43 ft.lbs first pass
-additional 90 degrees second pass
-another 90 degrees third pass
-in the correct tightening sequence.

With brand new head bolts^

After putting it all back together and firing it up i noticed a small drip running down the right side of the block and along the pan rails to the floor....

I watched the drip form right at the outside edge of the cyldiner head gasket between cyldiners 1 and 3.... there was noting else near the head that could have possibley be leaking...

I knew something was fishy about those metal gaskets... but i wasnt sure....

Its only that external leak... it doesnt leak internally and the oil is fine...

The truck runs great and hits on all cyldiners with no hesitation or nervous like behavior....

Engine vacuum is about 16-18hg which is ok but a tad on the low side.

Have not checked compression but u know its leaking from the head. I can see it.

Anyone else have this problem with the LCEngineering head gasket kits?