86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

3.0 valve adjustment in N. CO?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2011, 03:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3.0 valve adjustment in N. CO?

So, I have a '94 4runner with the 3.0 and I am pretty sure it's overdue for a 60k valve adjustment. I have heard that deferring this maintenance is a bad idea as it can lead to burned valves.

So, a couple questions for the masses. . .

1.) I should do this, right? It's true that bad things will eventually happen if I ignore it?

2.) Just how bad is it to do in a home garage setting? It looks like kind of a PITA. I am a reasonably experienced home mechanic (successful engine swap in my past, have done ALL maintenance and repair on all vehicles owned by myself and my wife for the last 6 years or so) with a decent selection of tools and a garage to work in. This is a 2nd vehicle, so it wouldn't be the end of the world if it sat for a week or two while I waited on shims. However, I don't have a lot of time to throw at this, so hands-on time needs to add up to less than a weekend.

3. Assuming I cave and pay someone to do it for me, can anyone recommend a mechanic in N. CO (I'm in Ft. Collins) for this job? I called a few places today and got estimates of $350-400 labor + shims and valve cover gaskets (yikes!). Seems like this is the going rate, but maybe someone knows something (someone?) I don't?
Old 09-20-2011, 05:21 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post