YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-05-2011, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
22rte no power no rev

i have a 86 toyota turbo 4x4. i bought the truck used for $900 in the condition it is in. the person i bought it from had the truck for 22yrs and im the third owner. the engine is not original engine it is a replacement engine with probably 120,000 miles. the turbo isnt a stock ct-20 it is a aftermarket garrett replacement turbo.
ok here is the problem. the truck has no power it struggles to get up slight inclines on the freeway and at 2100rpms it wont rev any higher and vibrates badly. if you put it in neutral at a stop and try and rev it full throttle it WILL not go past 3000rpms its like it cant rev any higher it doesnt hit a rev limiter it just wont rev like there is a drag on the engine. i cant even do 70mph on the freeway big rigs will pass me in the slow lane.

i checked the tps by moving in back and forward while it was full throttle it didnt do anything. i moved the distributor up and down while at full throttle and it still didnt rev past 3000rpm in neutral. checked vacuum lines and they seem to be in the right locations. just pulled valve cover off and put crank pulley to 5degrees and the notches in the cam sprocket seem to be at 12:00. unplugged tps and it didnt help and the ecu didnt throw a cel. it never gives me a check engine light so there is no way to check codes. please help i dont know what else to do. any advice will be greatly apperciated thank you
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to weaselman Send a message via MSN to weaselman Send a message via Yahoo to weaselman
whats the timing at? have you checked with a timing light? i kno you moved the dist, but that doesnt mean much.
__________________
87 Turbo 4Runner with garret turbo

Plans: 2"body lift, manual trans swap, 4 inch lift, maybe a SAS swap


EPIC Thread
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=763645
weaselman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
GreenFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PEI, Canada
Posts: 174
Try unplugging your TPS and revving it.
GreenFlames is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
unplugged tps doesnt rev still. havent thrown a timing light on it. figured out how to check codes. got code 14 which is over boost thats more then likely why it wont rev and vibrates it is hitting fuel cut. putting a boost gauge on it now
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nova scotia
Posts: 29
check for plugged exhaust . a plugged cat can cause alot of problems
toyrunnerns is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
put boost gauge on im not getting any boost maybe 0.5lbs. still have code 14 which is either the turbo or afm or even the ecu thats what my service manual says. i tried another ecu and it seemed to be even slower. how do i know if my afm is bad? im pulling the downpipe off right now to see if maybe cat is clogged.
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 10:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
so my boost gauge reads 0psi and still wont rev past 2000rpms. i replaced ignitor because i hade a code for it then i reset ecu and i only get code 14. so i pulled the elbow off the turbo to check free play right when i pulled it off there was oil sitting in the intake of the compresser housing right before the compresser wheel. checked free play in and out and there didnt seem to be any. so i put it all back together and pulled the hose off the wastegate from the compresser housing to see if maybe it would just boost now that the wastegate would allow it to full boost but it didnt do anything and still had 0psi replaced the afm also still 0psi. i just am dumbfounded now im ready to buy a brand new turbo because i just dont know where else to look. suggestions would be greatly apperciated
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
blake.nemitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: castle rock
Posts: 1,388
stick your finger in the afm and see if the door is stuck and properly plugged in
blake.nemitz is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
stuck my finger in the afm and door opened properly and made sure it was plugged in. i was thinking maybe i aint getting fuel. where can i put a fuel pressure gauge?
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 39
you could pull the fuel rail off and drill and tap a hole for the fuel pressure gauge. how do your spark plugs look?
pmoose is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 10:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
thats what i thought to do. havent pulled plugs i assume its running lean
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 11:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
annoyingrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,067
Sounds like you have a vacuum/boost leak. Check everything past the AFM for cracks or holes. Remove all of the lines and inspect them. You could have a crack on the backside of a pipe you can't see.

Does the truck have anything like a BOV, or crankcase breather installed? Has the truck always been like this since you've owned it?
__________________
I drive a vehicle!

Last edited by annoyingrob; 02-15-2011 at 11:08 AM.
annoyingrob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by annoyingrob View Post
Sounds like you have a vacuum/boost leak. Check everything past the AFM for cracks or holes. Remove all of the lines and inspect them. You could have a crack on the backside of a pipe you can't see.

Does the truck have anything like a BOV, or crankcase breather installed? Has the truck always been like this since you've owned it?

it doesnt have any bov just the stock one. and it doesnt have a crankcase breather. it reads 20 hg of vaccum at idle so i dont think i have a leak. and yes its been this way since ive owned it
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Half Doors on and Top off for the Summer!
Personal Sales Rating: (3)
Staff
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW, rusting away
Posts: 15,206
http://www.22rte-trucks.com/simplemachinesforum/
__________________
~robb
'81 Toyota Trekker

Mini FAQ/Ideas

PNW wheeler group: Gitout.Com
dropzone is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
James Woods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Beav-Town, OR
Posts: 1,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by toyrunnerns View Post
check for plugged exhaust . a plugged cat can cause alot of problems
X2 on this, try removing the O2 sensor, giving the exhaust somewhere to exit if the cat is clogged, and see if anything changes.
__________________
1988 Pickup dubbed -Bucket-Build-
Ongoing garage queen project at the moment
Trail Gear 4.7 T-Case gears, Dana 60 front axle, 14 Bolt FF rear axle, All-Pro T-case parking brake,
Dents and Stickers and now with lots more dents.


1998 Toyota 4runner Limited-
4wd, Automatic, 3.4 5vze and Rear E-Locker Daily Driver.

James Woods is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 08:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: salem or
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbomike View Post
it doesnt have any bov just the stock one. and it doesnt have a crankcase breather. it reads 20 hg of vaccum at idle so i dont think i have a leak. and yes its been this way since ive owned it
I'm new to these trucks too but..... as far as I know they don't have a stock blow off valve. You might want to take a pic of your "bov" and motor for us to take a look at.
__________________
1990 toyota short bed std cab-sas ,35's,rear lockrite,chevies-RIP

1974 camaro-pretty quick,sits most of the time

1989 jeep cherokee-stock,wife's rig/toddler hauler

1987 turbo p/u-stock for now,sas asap and a few other mods in the future.Blown head gasket,been sitting since july 2011......Starting to work on it 3-15-2012....Running as of 11/17/12

Radiator repair god.......
Turd Furgeson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
DeathSycthe02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oregon, Portland
Posts: 136
XIDeathSyctheIX
they dont have stock bov, the orignal ct20 turbo had a built in wastegate tho... Mine did this but that was because it had a blown head gasket and the turbo was cracked and had hella vacuum leaks lol but im re-building it first.
DeathSycthe02 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
there is no bov then. i know it has wastegate. someone told me it had one inside the throttle body stock but i guess it doesnt. maybe i have a cracked manifold and it wont boost. but i still dont know why it doesnt rev past 3000rpm in neutral, makes no sense wouldnt it rev to 5000rpm even if the turbo was bad. it doesnt smoke, every once and awhile it will smoke when i start it up cold but it will go away very quickly once im driving. wouldnt it constantly smoke during driving if the seals were bad? i just dont see why it wont rev. espicially when im under load it seems like it wants to die it will miss very badly at 2000rpms and seems like the engine wants to die.
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 05:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
annoyingrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,067
Just because you read 20mmhg vacuum doesn't mean you don't have a vacuum leak. That measurement is taken at your intake manifold, the space between your throttle body and your intake valves. There's a whole bunch more to the intake system, everything from the AFM up to the throttle body. A leak there won't show up on your gauge, but will let metered air out/unnmetered air in, throwing off your air/fuel mix.
__________________
I drive a vehicle!
annoyingrob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by annoyingrob View Post
Just because you read 20mmhg vacuum doesn't mean you don't have a vacuum leak. That measurement is taken at your intake manifold, the space between your throttle body and your intake valves. There's a whole bunch more to the intake system, everything from the AFM up to the throttle body. A leak there won't show up on your gauge, but will let metered air out/unnmetered air in, throwing off your air/fuel mix.
ok so i should check for vaccum leaks then. whats the best way to do that? also what should i do about the no revs. im thinking i should pull the downpipe off the turbo and stat it to see if that will help. and i could also check in and out free play on the turbo. i already checked the compesser side but i heard the hot side takes more abuse
turbomike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:29 AM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
22ret, 22rte, afm, boost, exhaust, lacks, power, replacement, resetting, slow, sticking, stuck, toyota, turbo, wastegate

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:00 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2