Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22RE Rear Dually 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2015, 07:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22RE Rear Dually 4x4 5spd SR5 TUNE UP

Hi Newbie here
I have a bone stock '86 22RE SR5 5spd 4x4 1-ton dually with 125k - It is ready for a complete service.
The plan is to do a full motor and basic drivetrain tune up before i head out on a 3 month 25k trip Ny to Ca to ALaska to Maine to Ny road trip.
As of now it runs decent and has good compression but it is just a bit sluggish and underpowered.
i have read so many forum pages but could not find a thread thats speak solely about an OEM restoration/tuneup focused on reliability.

i am looking to keep the OEM quality and gas mileage but to re-energize the stock motor and possibly gain a bit more HP and torque. Long highway drives with lots of high mountain passes and then off road to remote camp sites RELIABILITY is most important.

The parts list and service i am going to do are listed below.
my main questions are ...
...what injectors are best for my application? rebuilding old ones or buying new injectors? cold air intake or stock filter? new hi flow throttle body?
cat back exhaust? ...or headers, hiflow cat and full 2.25 piping to rear?? any problems with O2 sensors with 2.25 exhaust ? what sites carry these parts?

here is a link i was looking at as a possible option...
http://www.lceperformance.com/22RE-8...-p/1060002.htm

here is my list so far. ... suggestions welcomed...!

tune up:
------------------
air filter
cabin air filter
oil filter
oil (sea foam)
oil pan gasket
thermostat + gasket
hoses
radiator flush
plugs = cap + wires
vacuum lines
injector O-rings
pcv valve + rubber grommet
belts
fuel filter
TPS sensor test - DVOM
O2 sensor
flush tranny
flush diff front and rear
valve adjustment + gasket
timing adjust
grease all joints
battery replace
engine ground check

drivetrain
-----------------------------
new shocks