86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

22re pickup is Blowing Smoke

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2014, 05:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re pickup is Blowing Smoke

Hey guys. I'm new to this. May be in the completely wrong section. However, my Toyota pickup (22re) is blowing light colored smoke. It has been since I got it half a year ago. Drives fine. Has been rebuilt, which may have something to do with it. I got it post rebuild and have no documentation. I am running low on oil after about 1000 miles of fresh change and my engine coolant is running dry in about the same amount of time. Does anyone have a decent diagnosis? The engine also clicks. But again, this is pretty common, and it has run beautifully with no problems. The hose for vsv and some other emission valves have dry rotted so I caped them for the time being until I can pull new ones. Can anyone help or redirect me to somewhere I can get a thought?

Thanks
Luke
Old 04-27-2014, 08:19 AM

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Sorry to hear about this. Can we get a little more info on the color of the smoke

Blue =burning oil

White =coolant

Black= excess gas

Does it burn more or only on start up, get worse after it hears up? No change hot or cold, just the same amount all the time??
Old 04-27-2014, 09:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Gizler00
Sorry to hear about this. Can we get a little more info on the color of the smoke

Blue =burning oil

White =coolant

Black= excess gas

Does it burn more or only on start up, get worse after it hears up? No change hot or cold, just the same amount all the time??