22re explain how to adjust throttle position sensor - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re explain how to adjust throttle position sensor

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2013, 07:24 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 59
22re explain how to adjust throttle position sensor

How do I adjust the tps? I've adjusted it several times. Haynes says turn it counterclockwise until the ohmmeter deflects but I heard turn clockwise until it shows infinite resistance on a digital ohmmeter. Am I trying to place it in infinite resistance or just before it?
owbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:38 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: L.A. CA.
Posts: 328
http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTricks/TPS/index.shtml
maco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:40 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: L.A. CA.
Posts: 328
Just scroll down to frankenyota's procedure, that's what i did.
maco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 06:44 AM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by maco35 View Post
Just scroll down to frankenyota's procedure, that's what i did.
Thanks
owbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:21 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: L.A. CA.
Posts: 328
You're welcome.
maco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:30 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 37
Most tps's are the same. Youtube is your best friend.
mitutoyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 06:14 AM   #7
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Gizler00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,083
The 4crawler tps adjust is the best write up I have seen out there.
Gizler00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:53 AM   #8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizler00 View Post
The 4crawler tps adjust is the best write up I have seen out there.
Did this frankenyota thing work out for you? It's even worse now for me. Running too rich.
owbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 02:10 PM   #9
Registered User
 
devilmans hand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Commonwealth of Northern Virginia
Posts: 22
make sure your idle screw is properly backed out. also double check the throttle body is properly closing all the way too.

I just adjusted mine and found that the screw that slowly allows the throttle body to close was backing out and bumping up the idle.

You could also have an intake leak.

when i improperly adjusted my TPS there was a lopey idle at about 1800rpm. when I properly set the idle screw and readjusted the TPS everything worked well after that.
devilmans hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:32 PM   #10
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,715
Do not follow the following above, (or is that below since I'm replying?).
Vacuum leaks have nothing to do with the TPS sensor adjustment.



Quote:
Originally Posted by devilmans hand View Post
make sure your idle screw is properly backed out. also double check the throttle body is properly closing all the way too.

I just adjusted mine and found that the screw that slowly allows the throttle body to close was backing out and bumping up the idle.

You could also have an intake leak.

when i improperly adjusted my TPS there was a lopey idle at about 1800rpm. when I properly set the idle screw and readjusted the TPS everything worked well after that.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:46 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: L.A. CA.
Posts: 328
Also you can check your timing.
maco35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:58 PM   #12
Registered User
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,620
I found that all kind of confusing

A vacuum leak after the meter will cause a "lean" condition, engine gets more air than the computer sees.

Not sure but I think he(devilman) was refering to the dashpot not holding it's setting, but he could of ment the throttle opener wasn't functioning properly. In both cases a dab of lock-tite will get you sorted. Dashpot malfunctions will leak air around the AFM, lean condition. Throttle opener malfunctions will cause odd Idle speed, throttle plate not colsing consistently once the engine starts.

OP(owbro) You'll want to do the TPS and AFM inspections. Might not hurt to give a description of the root issues either, eg what led you to tweaking the TPS in the first place.
Co_94_PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:37 AM   #13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 59
I've done a lot to this truck because it was stalling BAD I was accelerating from a stop light the night I bought it and it stalled but at random conditions it seemed so I spent 3 months trying to figure it out. I did fuel pump, fuel filter, injectors, and the plugs, wires, cap and rotor many times, maf, pcv, fpr vsv, fuel pressure regulator, egr valve, radiator, radiator cap, cleaned iac valve, dashpot (which isn't the type with the vacuum hose) cleaned k&n filter, cleaned cat, tps, cold start valve, cold start valve time switch, efi temp sensor, checked cor. There's more I forgot about but I believe it was bad injectors after all. I like doing this thing so I don't mind having a bunch of new parts and some were out of spec anyway. But I adjusted the tps because it was stalling and it was suspect when my original toyota tps was giving me weird numbers. And then the BWD tps i put on turned out to be bad so now here I am trying to put the original toyota tps back on. My intake did have a leak that was giving me a bit of trouble but I fixed it before I started this thread. I think I may just need to reset the ecu. When I first adjusted the tps it seemed rich but I think it was just getting used to my adjustment.
owbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 01:03 AM   #14
Registered User
 
erock13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 182
Is there a certain range of resistance that is leaner and a range that is richer? On 4crawlers page he says anything within the spec range is fine, but I'm seein ppl talk about adjusting it too rich or too lean.. Wondering if I've missed somethin..
erock13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1985 22r pickup, no spark but engine cranks sandyota 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 3 05-12-2016 05:04 PM
Toyota 3.0 extremely sluggush Alex Bessinger 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 21 08-31-2015 09:17 AM
91 22RE Should my Oil Pressure Warning light come on when disconnected? Odin 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 8 07-15-2015 09:28 PM
ENGINE TROUBLE 3vze please help :( smiley52 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 8 07-11-2015 05:16 AM
86 Pickup 4x4 seat upgrade garagespace 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 0 07-09-2015 08:37 AM


Tags
1986, 22re, 22rec, 86, adjust, adjusting, adjustment, check, lean, position, sensor, set, throttle, toyota, tps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:59 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.