Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

22re died - Timing Chain skipped a tooth or headgasket? Maybe both?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 04:28 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
22re died - Timing Chain skipped a tooth or headgasket? Maybe both?

Howdy,

New to the forum here, but I've been wrenching on older BMWs for a few years now so I feel pretty mechanically inclined.

Back around the end of January I picked up an '86 SR5 Xtracab w/ around 217K Miles on it. PO said the headgasket and timing chain were done at about 200K or so, so I went on my way. Did a compression test too and all cylinders yielded around 175-180psi, so it seemed like a pretty strong motor, the only thing else I've done was a water pump since it was leaking from the bearing. Unforunately in the last 500 miles or so the timing chain has started making noise and I've been playing russian roulette and bidding my time before doing it.

So last Friday I was getting on the highway to go home from work and the truck started loosing power going up not so steep hill. I was travelling around 50mph and was able to hold it around 35-40 and coast to an off ramp where it promptly died. I was able to restart it a few minutes later and get it into the commuter lot, but it had very little power awith some strange symptoms. If I gave it throttle it wouldn't start, but w/out throttle it would start and idle very low around 500rpm, just barely running. Once it was running if I smoothly got on the gas and got it above 2000rpm it would rev freely with no load on the engine. I took it down the street and it still felt like it had no power, but would still drive if I kept the revs above 2000rpm.