86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1992 22re injector leak

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2015, 01:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1992 22re injector leak

I was out collecting firewood yesterday and smelled gas. One of the injectors is spraying fuel with the engine running. I can see part of the o-ring sticking out, so I am assuming that's the culprit.

I have the Haynes manual, so I think I can do this myself. However, the truck is in a not so easy to access or work on area, aka up on a ridge. So if anyone has any advice on what to, or what NOT to do in this situation, please advise.

The Haynes instructions seem a bit lengthy. Any shortcuts? My plan is to replace all the o-rings. Should I replace the grommets too?

Cheers,

Paulman

Last edited by paulman227; 03-11-2015 at 01:53 PM.
Old 03-11-2015, 04:35 PM

I am not a mechanic. All you have to do is take your time and pay attention to what you take off then put it back on the same way. If I can do it, you can do it.

I bought an O-ring kit from Napa for the injector. Take off the intake manifold and all the vacuum lines. Pull the injector off and redo all the rubber on it. Before you push it back in make sure the hole is clean where you insert it and also make sure you don't drop anything in there.

I CANT STRESS THIS ENOUGH-------->>> Get some GASOLINE and make sure to get all the rubber on the fuel injector lubed up with gas before you push it in. I didn't do this the first two times and it screwed me. Ive had my damn manifold off like 4 times this year..

You'll need some extensions to get the fuel line back into the bottom of the intake. Be careful when taking any fuel lines off because they have copper crush washers that can fall and disappear so magically quick!
Old 03-12-2015, 08:45 AM

Thanks for the info.

A couple more questions: