Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1990/1993 3vze 4Runner low idle/stalling, new to Yotas...

Old 03-30-2012, 11:10 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1990/1993 3vze 4Runner low idle/stalling, new to Yotas...

I recently purchased a 1990 4Runner with a 3VZE motor from a 1993 4Runner. It is an automatic, 4WD. It runs great with the exception of this low idle problem that mine seems to be having. Upon startup, it runs at about 1100 RPM, and once it's warmed up completely, 300-400 RPMs...I honestly have no idea how it stays running at these speeds. It also sometimes stalls when I hit thick snow or rough terrain and let off the gas. After it stalls I start it right back up, and rev the engine a little bit before letting it idle again, otherwise it stalls right off the bat. The only solution I can think of is to back off the idle screw, but I wanted to get some other opinions before I do anything, as I am new to Toyotas, and new to the inner workings of cars in general. Here is a video I took with my phone of the exhaust sound, the tachometer, and the engine as it's running. Sure, I may be asking a stupid question, but any and all input is appreciated! Thank you

P.S. - The rattling in the beginning is the fender on the exhaust tip; I hold the fender still so you can hear the exhaust note.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8_On...aBK39DdAEow%3D

Last edited by dmahonec; 03-30-2012 at 11:11 AM.
Old 03-30-2012, 08:18 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I just adjusted my idle after fixing bad valve cover gaskets (Vacuum leak), and installing new plugs/wires/cap/rotor. Warm up your truck and then turn your idle screw counter clockwise one full turn at a time to increase your idle and clockwise to bring it down. If this does not fix the problem it may be a TPS issue, you could unplug your TPS and see if the truck jumps back to the factory idle zone.

Last edited by McKenna; 03-30-2012 at 08:20 PM.
Old 03-30-2012, 10:06 PM