Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1989 22r won't start 1st start of the day

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2012, 04:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
update: 22r won't start 1st start of the day

Hi I have a carbed 89 2wd pickup that won't start the 1st start of the day when it's cold out.I believe it to be a carb problem .when you go to start it with out even pumping the gas it acts flooded. I have checked spark when it does this and it's good but noticed the sight glass on carb is empty until I crank it.i have rebuilt the carb but is there a way it could be leaking down like the old Chevy quadrajets used to do and flooding it over night? I so what do I need to look for when I disassemble it.I am an experienced auto/ diesel mechanic just new to Toyota

Thanks

Last edited by timothy47129; 10-15-2012 at 07:59 PM.
Old 10-12-2012, 09:05 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by timothy47129
but noticed the sight glass on carb is empty until I crank it. i have rebuilt the carb but is there a way it could be leaking down like the old Chevy quadrajets used to do and flooding it over night?
This seems to be a common occurrence with the OEM Aisan carburetors after a rebuild. I have the same problem.

There are threads on this same subject here, at Toyota Nation & 4x4Wire or is it IH8MUD. Anyways, for what ever reason the fuel does leak out of the bowl. I was pursuing the reason on my carb but was sidetrack as I bought a Isuzu Trooper that needs repair.

I did confirm that the fuel leaks out when I removed my carb and saw fuel sitting on the plastic spacer & in the intake maifold. I took picturs of that. It seams that the fuel was coming from the secondary barrel. But that is only an observation from where the fuel was on the spacer. The fuel may have puddled there via gravity from my leaning truck.