Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1988 22re rough idle, #3 cylinder missing.

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2008, 09:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1988 22re rough idle, #3 cylinder missing.

I have a rough idle problem that came on out of nowhere (feels like the engine is running on 3 cylinders), one minute I was driving stopped and got some coffee and when I pulled out and the engine is missing. I limped back home which was a couple blocks at most and haven't been driving since. I just changed the plugs (gaped at .032), cap & rotor about 3000miles ago. So I checked all of it and turns out the #3 cylinder plug was fouled up. I'm not to sure what type of fouling exactly but its pretty burnt and dirty looking but dry. So I changed the plug and also changed the wires and no improvement still missing. I'm not sure where to look next, I'm a novice mechanic at best. Any ideas what could cause this type of problem that fast.
Old 05-15-2008, 11:43 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
If the plug was black then most likely it's oil or carbon fouled. If it was a white/gray color, that's usually caused by the additives they put in fuel.
If you pull that spark plug wire off are you getting spark from it?
Old 05-15-2008, 11:58 AM

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
An injector going out would do that. Since the problem seems to be isolated to the one cylinder and you already know the plug and wire on that cylinder are good, the injector is the only other culprit. Well, aside from the cap. But, you said you'd replaced it and they don't usually just take a dive like that. Wouldn't hurt to check it, though. Hopefully, it's that simple for you.

As for the injector, it's not the fun job, but you'll have to inspect it.
http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...31injector.pdf