Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1987 22r 4x4 l/b with 30k og miles

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2012, 03:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1987 22r 4x4 l/b with 30k og miles

Howdy,

I just picked up an '87 long bed 4x4 with 30,000 original miles on it. I'm super stoked (and promise I'm not here to brag), but super curious about this new truck. I'm pretty new to working on cars, but definitely want everything on this truck to be done by me. From what I've heard the 22r's are fairly simple (as far as engines go) to work on.

I guess my first question about this truck is: What should I be concerned about first? It literally sat, garaged, for the last ten years. Before this, it was the "Vacation Truck" for an old guy that had a summer home on an island here in the Pacific Northwest. He just drove it to the store and such. I'm the second owner.

The old guy (I say this endearingly) got it tuned up before I picked it up because he said it was "driving a little rough after sitting". New oil, plugs, wires, filters etc. I've had it a week now and it fires right up cold, hot whatever. Idles fantastic, has plenty of power etc. In fact, I can't think of anything that this truck needs. But after sitting for so long, is there anything in particular that I should check out?

What has been known to go - due to age? This truck has original everything right down to the factory AM Radio. I, only yesterday, took the original tires from 1987 off. They were cracked to all hell. Got some new Michelins put on.

I work, seasonally, up in Yosemite National Park and this winter I will be in the Tetons. I definitely need to be able to count on it pretty soon. In between these spots I will be all over the west coast rock climbing and sleeping in the back of it (let's hear it for longbeds!).