Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

100K 88 Pickup 22r Strange Carb Trouble

Old 02-13-2010, 06:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
100K 88 Pickup 22r Strange Carb Trouble

Hey all,

I'm new to toyota forums, but it seems like there are some really helpful and passionate people around here. It's nice to know there are people who love their trucks and their brand and wanna help people out. Very cool.

Got a problem with my '88 pickup 22r 4x2 4Spd short bed ~100,000 miles. Unfortunately no tach, so I can't give specific rpms.

This problem had a sudden onset. Truck was operating fine until one day while highway driving I noticed irregularity when I let my foot off the peddle (clutch engaged) to slowly decelerate at higher speed (~65mph). Eventally I hit traffic, had to disengage the clutch and take my foot off the gas to brake, at which point the engine died. I restarted, it couldn't hold idle, died. I restarted again and negotiated the peddles to keep the rpm up, brake, and use the clutch at the same time to get to my destination.

It seems to operate fine with the gas peddle depressed (i.e. mid to high rpm).

Later in the day I started the pickup (no particular difficulty there) and drove it maybe a mile to another parking lot by the same method. When I got there it died (puttering out very violently). I went away to take care of something and came back after ~15 min. I started it again and it would waver between almost puttering out (I mean just BARELY not) and pretty high rpm while fast idling (I hadn't tapped the pedal yet). Anyway, got it home at the end of the day.