84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

22r head gasket replacement

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 08:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Some of the backstory to this truck: I bought it with my ex in 2007 in California. We moved to PA and when she split with me two years ago, she kept the truck. She pulled into her mechanic's shop this past October, the muffler fell off, and she was told the HG had blown. Rather than scrap it, she gave it back to me and now it's my project (which I'm actually thankful for!).

I get the feeling her mechanic was not so great. I found those threads in the water pump seal. He clearly never changed the main front crank oil seal, which was the biggest problem. He charged us $60 to determine that the HG had blown and he took the muffler and cat and wouldn't give them to me when I had the truck towed to my place.

Now, me being a total newb, I didn't check cylinder compression before taking the engine apart, and I didn't check the thermostat. I've got the engine mostly back together with the new head+valves and will start it today or tomorrow. But I found this while replacing the thermostat:

So, the old thermostat has no guts -- they're gone. I didn't find them in the old head. The passages out of the thermostat housing aren't very big. I didn't find anything in the intake manifold. Could some little metal pieces somehow be inside my block?

Or is this a case of thermastat sabotage?

Anyway, bought the fancy new 90916-03070 from toyotapart dot com (Kalamazoo MI).

Old 04-20-2012, 05:32 PM

Got it all back together. There's a coolant leak here:

It's probably at the blue line, where there is probably a gasket. i might have forgotten to put a gasket in that joint, or there could be a crack in something. What is this component called? Obviously, it's buried behind the intake manifold and I'm going to have to take it off to get to this.