Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Question, '78 20r, starts up but dies unless I continually pump gas pedal

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2015, 12:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello all,

I'm a bit of a newbie, so bear with me; also, let me know if I posted this in the wrong place..

My issue:

My truck was running normal (compared to how it was when I got it) until I ran out of gas. (Note, this had happened before, and I had no problems after putting gas in it previously) This time, I put gas in it (premium) and it ran fine to my house. The next day, I went to start it up, and it would crank over for a few seconds and then die. Also, it dies more suddenly when I step on the gas. If I pump the pedal, it goes a bit before dying again.

I have a stock Aisan carb, which I just rebuilt (mostly), I replaced the fuel pump and filters, replaced vacuum lines. Before the carb rebuild, there was a new whistle I could hear, so I thought the carb was the problem. Now, that whistle is gone, but I still have the same problem. I've checked the basics (plugs, wires, electrical connections, intake bolts, linkages) and all seems to be in order. I rebuilt the head a few months back, so the related gaskets there are all new and seem fine. I'm totally stumped here and a bit frustrated.

I should also note that my gas tank has a few pinholes in the top (due to previous owner's lack of care), which I have tried several times, and failed, to patch. However, that has been an issue since having it, and like I said it ran fine before.

I'm sorry for the wordiness, I just wanted to make sure I gave an accurate description...

Do you have any suggestions of what to do next?

Thank you for reading!

Last edited by DiZ86; 08-08-2015 at 06:25 PM.
Old 08-09-2015, 06:31 AM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts