Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

am i in more trouble than i think

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2008, 01:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
am i in more trouble than i think

so i have an 82 toyota that i picked up when gas hit 4 bucks a gallon. its always had a front main leak and now the oil pan busted. how much am i looking at in getting this fixed. i have another oil pan i picked up from a salvaged 82 i found but i have no idea how to replace it.
Old 11-27-2008, 02:40 PM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Should be no bad deal just remove the bolts and you may have to wiggle it around a bit to get the old one out and repeat to install
Old 11-27-2008, 03:12 PM

so just unbolt and rebolt nothing more?
Old 11-27-2008, 04:54 PM

yeah the rear main seal is pretty much a clutch jon.. so its quite involved but ive done it and im no master mechanic!

but if you dont have garage tools and a daily driver might not be a good idea but will prolly cost close to a grand for a shop todo it and they will prolly want to do the clutch
Old 11-27-2008, 05:12 PM

its my front main though
Old 11-27-2008, 05:14 PM

o snap front main..
well you would still need some tools and a fsm and would GIVER!
Old 11-27-2008, 06:10 PM

Dont froget to get a new oil pan gasket when installing the new one.
Old 11-27-2008, 09:09 PM

ok bigt didnt understand wat you meant, and a gasket? gotta remeber i know nothing about mechanices but im trying to learn by fixing up my old vehicles
Old 11-27-2008, 09:17 PM

When your put your new oil pan on be sure get buy a new gasket for it from Napa or Advance.
Old 11-27-2008, 09:47 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
A thousand dollars for a shop to do it sounds a bit high. The toyota dealer quoted me 500 for the front main and timing chain cover gasket. A shop (not dealer) should be able to do it for $300. (YES, I Know he said Oil Pan, it should be about the same amount of work) If you do do it yourself, take your time and mark everything.