Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

1979 Truck that has been sitting 20 years!

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2012, 12:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Good advice on the door handles, I would have never figured something like that to stick, but then again the truck has been idle for a long time. I drained all the fluids today and did not see any chunks in the oil so maybe it will be a pretty good truck to get back together. I have heard pro's and con's to the weber carb transition. Does anyone have their thoughts on this. All I have read is that the Weber 32/36 is the way to go, but like I have stated I am new at this and invite anyone's advice on the issue. If you have done the conversion and it works great please let me know. I am interested in what type of adapter plate you used and what problems you ran in too if any.
Old 03-01-2012, 12:44 AM

Luckily with this truck, my granpa bought the original service manuals from 1979 and I found them. It really is a blast from the past to see what they actually told you for that year. The original manuals basically tell you how to tear everything apart from the motor to anything else. Thank god for a grandpa that was auto inclined god bless his soul. I will admit though this forum is also a great help considering the truck has been sitting so long. I will post more photo's the longer I get into tearing it apart.
Old 03-01-2012, 07:34 AM

Originally Posted by 541SR5
If you haven't already get yourself a manual or download the Factory Service Manual (there's a post about on the forum, just do a search).
Hey 541SR5, where were you able to find a first gen factory service manual? I've done crazy searching on here and on the internet, but haven't been able to find anything for first gens. Maybe I've missed something.
Old 03-01-2012, 07:54 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Dustydriver007