Tool Time Discussions here pertain to the use of tools you use while fabbing and wrenching in the garage

Plumbers opinion?

Old 02-19-2009, 01:22 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Plumbers opinion?

I saw a device on TV that clamps onto the pipe to heat it for soldering.

It seemed like a smart idea to me-since I always have too much stuff to hold when trying to "sweat" a joint-solder the connection in place.

It heats it hot enough that you only have to hold the solder and touch it to the joint and it wicks up and seals it.

No I don't remember what it is called-it was on "COOL TOOLS" on DIY Network I think it was.

Any plumbers out there? Does this seem like a logical tool for occasional copper pipe soldering usage?

I have a bathroom remodel underway-about 18 months now....
Old 02-26-2009, 05:05 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am a Washington Certified Journey plumber, certified brazer, certified med gas brazer, & instructor.

Using a device that would heat up the pipe sounds fishy.
It most likely works otherwise it would be joke, but my biggest concern is if the joint is strong?
You can get 25% penetration in the cup of a fitting and not have a leak. now is that joint strong? NO it is not it will last long, they came out with a 2 part epoxy goo for copper and I rip that crap out all the time.

Soldering copper joints is not a hard process once understood and if you understood the hows and whys you would shy away from this TV product.

How to solder copper pipe and fittings

#1 clean pipe and fittings with emery cloth or mesh cloth
#2 apply a thin layer of flux in fitting cup and pipe end with a acid brush
#3 heat the fitting cup NOT THE PIPE evenly around cup of fitting
#4 apply solder 180 degrees from flame and rotate flame and solder around cup keeping a 180 degree separation.
#5 let cool its ok to quench with water or a damp towel, be carful not to move or jar while solder is still molten