Tool Time Discussions here pertain to the use of tools you use while fabbing and wrenching in the garage

Bad Torque Wrench???

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2007, 06:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bad Torque Wrench???

I'm new to using torque wrenches. By new, I mean I have never used one. And by used one, I mean never successfully.

My dad gifted me a 1/2" drive 10-200 ft/lbs Torque Wrench he bought but had never used. I just finished a total fluid change and had I wondered out loud what it would be like to have properly torqued drain nuts. So he dropped it off the nest time he was in town. It is a Craftsman from the early 1960's. The tool looks mint.

I was playing with it trying to hear the "click" at proper torque on the 10mm self threading bolt that holds the quarter panel to the frame under the hood when I broke the head off. The wrench was set for 10 ft/lbs and I used a single fluid pull. Is there a trick I'm missing? I don't own 1/2" sockets so was using an adapter for my 3/8" drive ones. I also was using a 3" extension. Is this bad? The physics of the wrench shouldn't change but like I said, I'm new to torque wrenches and I really do not know how to use the things. The instruction manual was not very useful in describing actually operation of the wrench. Looking for help.
Old 04-23-2007, 06:49 PM
Donny, you're out of your element
Staff

Received 54 Likes on 34 Posts
the adapter is all the problem. Adapters allow for greater torque at the nuts, without showing as great a torque at the wrench.
Old 04-23-2007, 06:57 PM

How am I supposed to torque the spark plugs without an extension? You have to use one so how do you obtain proper torque? Also, the bolt I broke I would have guess was upwards of 50ft/lbs when originally secured, that's why I chose it because I figured I could safely play with it at a low torque setting. If I had a socket that fit a lug nut, I would have been playing with those.
Old 04-23-2007, 07:21 PM
Donny, you're out of your element